Schengen Visa

This section outlines the requirements for the Schengen Visa, which pertains to citizens of certain countries in Europe. Below is a brief excerpt from this section:

Spain is a member of the Schengen Convention. The Schengen Visa permits the holder to transit through or remain in Spanish territory and all other Schengen states for a maximum period of three months (90 days) within a period of six months (180 days) from entry into the Schengen area.

The European Union established the Schengen Visa policy in 1985 through a treaty signed in the village of Schengen, Luxembourg. The implementation of the Schengen Visa policy began in 1995, initially encompassing only seven European Union countries.

The Schengen Visa applies to the Schengen Area and some other European states. Currently, 26 European countries require the Schengen Visa. These countries have agreed to eliminate passport and immigration controls at joint borders and to share a single set of rules regarding border controls.

This is just a brief sample of the extensive information in the GoinGlobal Spain Career Guide, which is carefully researched and regularly updated by a GoinGlobal immigration attorney.

To access the rest of this content, see subscription options.

Back to Topics